Updates from the Heritage Library & A Timely WW1 Discovery

I haven’t posted in a blog in a couple of weeks, so thought I’d do a quick update about what’s going on at the Heritage Library, and I also want wish everyone a very happy new year!

2014 will bring quite a few changes for me. My traineeship ends in April, so I am currently on the hunt for a new job. I have met some really lovely people in my current role and will miss the team when I leave. I feel like the traineeship has definitely built up my skill set, and has offered a variety of experiences to draw on for job applications and interviews.

In other news, Natasha and I have recently been working on a lovely collection of WW1 letters. These were a very timely discovery! Natasha was cataloguing the archive of a head teacher (a Mr Goodison), when she came across a collection of letters that ex-pupils had sent to Mr Goodison while they were at war – a fantastic find. The letters make a very interesting read and allow for an insight into what was happening at the front. We have been transcribing the letters, and have been doing some research to find out more about their lives. Natasha has written an interesting post about this here .

P1010891

Stockport Libraries are having a pop up event in Merseyway shopping centre over the next few days, to celebrate Chinese New Year and show what the library service has to offer. The library has temporarily taken over a disused shop to host a variety of activities. Yesterday we went to offer a hand and help decorate the walls. It looks great and I’m sure it will be big success.

Next week the HLF trainees are all giving a presentation to the Stockport Heritage Forum. We also may have a visit from a school in the pipeline for next week, so there’s definitely a lot going on at the moment which is great!

I hope this blog wasn’t too all over the place, but wanted to give a quick over view of some of the things we are currently wokring on. I will do a more detailed post about our discoveries regarding the letters soon!

Leave a comment